Tags:
[OP]
Aug 25, 2011
585 posts
231 upvotes
SCARBOROUGH

ESA Certificate/Inspections for Pot Light Installations

HI guys,

I have a pot light installation scheduled next week for about 30 4-inch potlights in my old condo townhome. This is my first time going through this, and I want to make sure I'm doing things right.

I'm a bit confused about certificate/inspections, and I asked the contractor but I also want to ask here on this forum, in case the contractor is biased.

My contractor says he is a LEC, but is there a way to verify this? I read that he has to obtain the necessary permits from the ESA before work - is that the easiest way? I see that there are fees, and I think this falls under residential between $79-$129. Am I correct in assuming that the contractor has to apply, and I will reimburse him this amount?

Additionally, for the inspection and issuing the certificate, he mentioned that the contractor has to be there to review with the inspector, and he said that his fee is $500 for the day. Is this mandatory? Does he have to be there? Or can I, the home owner be there?

Also, when reading the fees, what does "with service" and "no service"?
https://esasafe.com/assets/files/esasaf ... s-2020.pdf
38 replies
Deal Addict
Jun 21, 2003
4768 posts
2108 upvotes
Stoney Creek, ON
sinasdf wrote: HI guys,

I have a pot light installation scheduled next week for about 30 4-inch potlights in my old condo townhome. This is my first time going through this, and I want to make sure I'm doing things right.

I'm a bit confused about certificate/inspections, and I asked the contractor but I also want to ask here on this forum, in case the contractor is biased.

My contractor says he is a LEC, but is there a way to verify this?