Fee to cancel Airbnb request?

• Last Updated:
  • Dec 6th, 2022 9:14 pm
[OP]
May 19, 2013
253 posts
134 upvotes

Fee to cancel Airbnb request?

This is my first time using Airbnb. I requested to reserve a house in France for a month during the RWC. The host sent me a message stating that the house is not available on the dates I requested and asked me to cancel the reservation to avoid paying a fee. Would I have to pay a fee? I chose this place because it had free cancellation until August so I don't think I should have to pay anything. I guess I would like to know what will happen if I let the request expire instead of cancelling.
10 replies
Deal Addict
Jul 14, 2006
2625 posts
3759 upvotes
What did AirBNB say when you reached out to them?
Deal Addict
Mar 3, 2009
1722 posts
1039 upvotes
Ottawa, ON
rtmrrtmr wrote: This is my first time using Airbnb. I requested to reserve a house in France for a month during the RWC. The host sent me a message stating that the house is not available on the dates I requested and asked me to cancel the reservation to avoid paying a fee. Would I have to pay a fee? I chose this place because it had free cancellation until August so I don't think I should have to pay anything. I guess I would like to know what will happen if I let the request expire instead of cancelling.
The host probably does not want to be seen as having cancelled the reservation. There may even be a fee for them to do so.

You can cancel for free until August so you can wait if you want to or you can contact AirBnb support although I have not usually found them to be too helpful.

Personally I would just cancel and go and find somewhere else.
Deal Guru
Sep 6, 2002
10549 posts
3867 upvotes
I would ask them why you would hit cancel when it is them cancelling on you.

They’re gaming the system they don’t want review that say “the host cancelled this stay” which I believe appears when this happens.

My guess is they got a private offer and want to dodge airbnb fees.