Ongoing Deal Discussion

[Fido] 4GB LTE Data Plan $10, BYOD, no contract (Read OP & Thread Summary 1st)

  • Last Updated:
  • Sep 22nd, 2020 8:42 pm
Deal Guru
Jan 12, 2017
11834 posts
3160 upvotes
Scarberia
on my 100% free plan it says in the plan on the app: Tablet promotion $0.00

on my 7.50$ (50%off for 2yrs) it says Data Only plan
$0.00 yet im paying 7.50 a month!

i only got the free one year 100% off sms on that tablet promotion account


is this similar to anyone who has 2 or more plans? tia
4BC6E442-552C-46E7-B990-F13B832C3E80.jpeg
A93D24DA-3160-4B07-AD91-199B84E4C2EB.png
*SIG: Ryzen R5 2600 cpu w/ ASrock B450M OCd to 4.0ghz@1.265v stock cooler 16gb ram win10 pro w/radeon rx460 rogers Gigabit<< xb1 gamertag: mikka2017 >>
Deal Addict
May 5, 2008
1862 posts
588 upvotes
My plans are all "Network access plan $0.00/mo" with an add-on "Data only plan 15.00/mo"

Before there definitely was the word "flex", but I do not recall exact wordong, and they were renamed at some point.
I wonder if behaviour wrt SMS is different fpr differently named plans?
Newbie
May 24, 2007
14 posts
2 upvotes
Toronto
My mom had large balance from her prepaid account, wondering if I can transfer her to a postpaid and use the transferred account credits to pay out this data plan for her?

Or even better, can I have the data plan port in her prepaid number? In that way she doesn't need a separated plan to keep her number alive

Thanks in advance
[OP]
Moderator
User avatar
Dec 27, 2007
20532 posts
11771 upvotes
Kitchener
Tichi wrote: My plans are all "Network access plan $0.00/mo" with an add-on "Data only plan 15.00/mo"

Before there definitely was the word "flex", but I do not recall exact wordong, and they were renamed at some point.
My original tablet plans went from mobile flex rate, to mobile internet rate, to network access always retaining voice and sms capabilities.
I wonder if behaviour wrt SMS is different fpr differently named plans?
Well, all older plans (regardless of name) had the function enabled by default, all these plans are currently grandfathered, the new tablet plan (only one people can sign up to now) has no SMS/Voice component (not only disabled by default but also can't be enabled without changing the actual plan).
[OP]
Moderator
User avatar
Dec 27, 2007
20532 posts
11771 upvotes
Kitchener
frankykw wrote: My mom had large balance from her prepaid account, wondering if I can transfer her to a postpaid and use the transferred account credits to pay out this data plan for her?
Yes, account credit goes towards the bill.
Or even better, can I have the data plan port in her prepaid number? In that way she doesn't need a separated plan to keep her number alive
If they allow you to do that she would lose the number for good because data-plan now has no voice/sms capabilities (so no one would be able to reach her on that number), instead you might want to consider porting her prepaid number to a VoIP service (after you get the dataplan).
[OP]
Moderator
User avatar
Dec 27, 2007
20532 posts
11771 upvotes
Kitchener
bylo wrote: Not that it matters much now but they also terminated incoming texts even on some old 3GB plans that had it. (At least they did on mine for a few months before they upgraded me to 4GB.) It seems that like everything else at Fido this is YMMV.
ours are still working (at least last time I checked).
With that said, got a spam SMS on the new 4GB number couple of days ago (which I already verified can't receive external SMS), seems Fido is selling internal access to spammers or spammers hacked in Fido's internal messaging system ;)
Deal Expert
Jan 7, 2002
20338 posts
13902 upvotes
Waterloo, ON
aasoror wrote: ours are still working (at least last time I checked).
With that said, got a spam SMS on the new 4GB number couple of days ago (which I already verified can't receive external SMS), seems Fido is selling internal access to spammers or spammers hacked in Fido's internal messaging system ;)
Thanks for the DP. When I get back to Canada I'll start the process to try to get them to restore incoming SMS -- which is included in the Ts and Cs of my plan! -- so I can do 2FA at TD Bank. If I get resistance then I'll escalate to CCTS.
veni, vidi, Visa
Deal Fanatic
Aug 27, 2004
6760 posts
301 upvotes
Toronto, ON
aasoror wrote: If they allow you to do that she would lose the number for good because data-plan now has no voice/sms capabilities (so no one would be able to reach her on that number), instead you might want to consider porting her prepaid number to a VoIP service (after you get the dataplan).
That's assuming she wants to be reached on that number, though - if she just wanted to prevent it from going to someone else that might work...
Deal Addict
May 5, 2008
1862 posts
588 upvotes
aasoror wrote: My original tablet plans went from mobile flex rate, to mobile internet rate, to network access always retaining voice and sms capabilities.


Well, all older plans (regardless of name) had the function enabled by default, all these plans are currently grandfathered, the new tablet plan (only one people can sign up to now) has no SMS/Voice component (not only disabled by default but also can't be enabled without changing the actual plan).
Out of curiosity, what is fhe name for the new 4GB plan?
Deal Fanatic
Aug 27, 2004
6760 posts
301 upvotes
Toronto, ON
Tichi wrote: Out of curiosity, what is fhe name for the new 4GB plan?
As far as I can tell from the My Account web site, "Data Only Plan - 4GB"
[OP]
Moderator
User avatar
Dec 27, 2007
20532 posts
11771 upvotes
Kitchener
bylo wrote: If I get resistance then I'll escalate to CCTS.
Unless you will have the SIM strictly in a tablet I would be careful escalating this ;) Fido can be very unforgiving if they want to.
Deal Fanatic
Aug 27, 2004
6760 posts
301 upvotes
Toronto, ON
aasoror wrote: Unless you will have the SIM strictly in a tablet I would be careful escalating this ;) Fido can be very unforgiving if they want to.
Why do I get the impression that I am one of a minority of people actually using this in a tablet?
[OP]
Moderator
User avatar
Dec 27, 2007
20532 posts
11771 upvotes
Kitchener
VivienM wrote: Why do I get the impression that I am one of a minority of people actually using this in a tablet?
Image

Everyone is using this in a tablet, it's just some have smaller tablets than others ;)
Deal Addict
May 5, 2008
1862 posts
588 upvotes
VivienM wrote: As far as I can tell from the My Account web site, "Data Only Plan - 4GB"
aasoror wrote: "Data Only Plan - 4GB"
Ok, thanks.. Is this the main plan, or add-on? For my old 3GB plan "Data Only" is an add-on...

Top

Thread Information

There are currently 2 users viewing this thread. (1 member and 1 guest)

antibucks