• Last Updated:
  • Jan 3rd, 2017 3:30 pm
[OP]
Penalty Box
May 15, 2016
6147 posts
2072 upvotes

First home in Edmonton

My bf and I have been renting for a few years and is looking to buy our first home. We plan on staying for a few years and upgrading when our finances allow it. Our budget right now is around 500 thousand.

Which areas of Edmonton are undervalued and will appreciate in the next couple of years?

I like the southside and have looked at some properties in Lake Summerside. It is in the last phase of development and the homes we looked at seems more pricy than other neighboring areas. I really like the idea of spending time on the lake during the summer.

Do I need a buyer's agent?
11 replies
Deal Expert
Aug 2, 2001
16577 posts
6703 upvotes
Summerside I believe will have fees for you to pay yearly to use the lake. I was under the impression it is a private lake and residence pay a fee to access it. If this is news to you, then make sure you read up on it before looking at Summerside.

I personally believe that the areas which will experience the most appreciation are those that are popular for infill - provided your house is zoned for infill and is in a condition to be torn down. The challenge is that you yourself may not want to live in these houses, because they are clearly older if ready to be torn down. Areas that may experience rapid growth in price would be due to factors that are unknown at this time (otherwise it would be already priced in the listing) - for example if Northlands Coliseum was suddenly torn down and turned into luxury high rise apartments, the area surrounding it may experience large growth (yes I used an example that is highly unlikely on purpose), so it would be very difficult to predict. But neighbourhoods big on infill are not hard to predict, you just have to purchase the appropriate house that is suitable to be tore down and made into "skinny" homes and subdivide the lot.