Careers

The first job after a culinary school, how easy to find?

• Last Updated:
  • Jul 9th, 2012 3:44 pm
Tags:
None
[OP]
Mar 26, 2012
36 posts
2 upvotes
Toronto

The first job after a culinary school, how easy to find?

Hi!

I am currently working in a food demo program in a grocery store, cook some basic recipes. While it's still cooking it's nothing compared to commercial kitchen or cooking in a line. I am thinking about going to a culinary school (Humber's culinary skills program) as I developed a strong interest in the field. However, I have no experience working in a commercial kitchen and am totally new in the field.

I talked to few cooks and read similar topics in this and other forums and understand that without passion and dedication one would inevitably hate cooking in a commercial kitchen. I watched all the seasons of Hell's Kitchen and Kitchen Nightmare and I still want to cook.

My question is how difficult it would be to find the first job as a cook in a professional commercial kitchen (not fast food) right after graduation from culinary school if I ace all my classes?

Thank you!
12 replies
Deal Addict
Nov 22, 2004
1486 posts
550 upvotes
as you might've guessed, there aren't many people with the culinary background in the careers section. i personally have absolutely no idea about the industry, but it's probably a competitive environment too.

i would suggest perhaps making a blog/website where you can put up your portfolio of the dishes you've made, pictures and what not. i'm not sure what kind of prerequisites employers look for other than experience and schooling, but maybe this will help you gain an edge?
Apr 1, 2011
228 posts
14 upvotes
Niagara Falls