• Jun 11th, 2021 1:12 pm
[OP]
Jan 8, 2015
51 posts
20 upvotes
Kitchener, ON

First time windsheld cracked from stone chip :(

10 years of driving, and this finally happens to me. :(
Is it safe to drive the car from my home to the repair shop..? (5km)
I tried drive the car for a bit, and the crack is getting longer and longer as I drive, so I immediately turned back...
Do I need a tow truck...?
22 replies
Deal Addict
Jun 4, 2020
1219 posts
1129 upvotes
Clarington, ON
stevenleung0000 wrote: 10 years of driving, and this finally happens to me. :(
yes
I tried drive the car for a bit, and the crack is getting longer and longer as I drive, so I immediately turned back...
Do I need a tow truck...? no
Deal Addict
Sep 6, 2017
3732 posts
2337 upvotes
it is not the end of the world, go through insurance and it replaced with a new pnew.
Deal Fanatic
Sep 12, 2007
6140 posts
872 upvotes
Greely
I've been driving with a crack across my windshield for 2 years of 40,000km. I refused to pay $2500 for a new windshield and will do it at lease turn in.

So you'll be fine for 5km ;)
Deal Guru
Mar 13, 2004
11544 posts
3251 upvotes
Toronto, Ontario
Yes you can drive around with it cracked, its not something i would wait months to fix but if you need to drive around for a few days/weeks it should not be an issue.
Nov 11, 2013
964 posts
1096 upvotes
Calgary
Windshield cracked, time to panic and replace car
[OP]
Jan 8, 2015
51 posts
20 upvotes
Kitchener, ON
redblack wrote: Windshield cracked, time to panic and replace car
Noted, will happily take your advice, and buy new car tomorrow
Oct 16, 2019
174 posts
88 upvotes
Don't let the police see you driving a cracked windshield car thoughPolice Officer
Deal Addict
Feb 25, 2007
2662 posts
456 upvotes
steve-0101 wrote: I've been driving with a crack across my windshield for 2 years of 40,000km. I refused to pay $2500 for a new windshield and will do it at lease turn in.

what kind of car?
Deal Addict
Sep 22, 2009
2154 posts
771 upvotes
Markham