Oct 20, 2019
191 posts
88 upvotes

Fitbit Versa 3 vs Galaxy Watch4 40mm

debating which one to get the wife
she wants it purely for the health and fitness tracking
never used a fitbit before so no idea how it compares
any of you have any input on which one?

versa 3 is on sale for 230 atm and the galaxy 4 is slightly cheaper with the 100$ 'trade in' credit
3 replies
Deal Fanatic
Feb 16, 2006
5053 posts
2043 upvotes
Vancouver
For serious workouts where you want to track heart rate, I think the general consensus is that any of the wrist worn devices are not the most accurate. If you want to accurately track heart rate you should get one of the $90-$120 chest strap devices, such as the Polar H10. My experience is that my Fitbit is no where near as responsive to heart rate changes as a chest strap - the Fitbit lags and in sustained cardio shows a different value than the strap.

I've been using the Polar H7 for 4 years (since April 2017) and a Fitbit Inspire HR for 18 months. The H7 was for a rehab program twice a week where a 90 minute session was comprised of 30 minutes of cardio (bike, tread mill, etc) 30 minutes of resistance training, and 30 minutes of core & stretches. Sometimes I would add a 3rd session. The chest straps do wear out over time from use. I'm on my 6th strap now - I buy $15 replacements off Amazon. I only use the Polar app for accurate tracking of workout sessions and not for any of the workout routines they promote. Also, if you start to use the cardio machines at gyms, you'll find that the H10 automatically syncs to the heart rate readout on most of the machines without needing to touch the HR sensor strips these often have. I'm not sure if the Samsung watch does that.