Cell Phones

Fongo for Living Overseas Long Term? 2FA?

• Last Updated:
  • May 27th, 2022 10:34 am
[OP]
Jul 17, 2019
15 posts
4 upvotes
Toronto

Fongo for Living Overseas Long Term? 2FA?

Hi rfd community,
I'll be going overseas for a few years and was looking to port my number to fongo and keep it long term. I wanted to confirm that:
1. Is it allowed to use Fongo overseas long term? I remember reading about some condition somewhere. I could use a vpn once in a while if it's necessary to keep Fongo happy.
2. How does Fongo handle 2FA nowadays? E.g. banks, CRA
63 replies
Deal Fanatic
Nov 14, 2003
5737 posts
4220 upvotes
LaLaLand
Fongo is just another voip service. I don't think they care where you're located. I've been using Google Voice for the last 10 years from Canada and abroad and it seems to be okay.

According to this support article from three months ago, it does not support sms short codes,

https://support.fongo.com/hc/en-us/arti ... ifications
Deal Addict
Mar 11, 2011
1026 posts
482 upvotes
Toronto
For verification, don't banks, etc. give you an email option for verification too? Or a telephone call? Also, using a vpn to place yourself back in Canada usually solves the verification problem.
[OP]
Jul 17, 2019
15 posts
4 upvotes
Toronto
46jimbo wrote: For verification, don't banks, etc. give you an email option for verification too? Or a telephone call? Also, using a vpn to place yourself back in Canada usually solves the verification problem.
Ah that's a good idea. I think there are still some sites (e.g. work email) that require a reverification every 3 months or so, and some that don't offer the call option, so it's just for good measure. Also, using my friend's laptop to log in to google yesterday, I was prompted for new device. Since a VPN would connect to some strange ip somewhere in canada, I would imagine it to be suspicious enough for 2fa.
Jul 21, 2021
596 posts
2108 upvotes
Does Fongo still have that caller ID problem?
Jul 9, 2005
216 posts