Force air gas furnace - repair or replace

• Last Updated:
  • Nov 28th, 2019 12:50 am
[OP]
Jan 11, 2007
128 posts
30 upvotes

Force air gas furnace - repair or replace

My 23-year old Lennox gas furnace had a service and check up this week. The repairman said the heat exchanger shows signs of rust and should be replaced. He said that because of its age, getting parts is difficult and would be around $3,000. He suggested a replacement, and take advantage of the rebate available from Fortis. However, the quotes that they provided even the cheapest is close to $7K (with tax and installation, but before rebate), and the high end one (which he is pushing for) is close to $8K. All quotes are for Lennox.

My question are:
- is 23-year old furnace that old and not worth fixing? I am no expert, but have been to houses with much older furnace
- what is the price range of gas furnace replacement? I'm no reference to see if the quotes are in the right ball park.
8 replies
Deal Expert
Feb 11, 2007
19448 posts
22565 upvotes
GTA
DealMarker wrote: My 23-year old Lennox gas furnace had a service and check up this week. The repairman said the heat exchanger shows signs of rust and should be replaced. He said that because of its age, getting parts is difficult and would be around $3,000. He suggested a replacement, and take advantage of the rebate available from Fortis. However, the quotes that they provided even the cheapest is close to $7K (with tax and installation, but before rebate), and the high end one (which he is pushing for) is close to $8K. All quotes are for Lennox.

My question are:
- is 23-year old furnace that old and not worth fixing? I am no expert, but have been to houses with much older furnace
- what is the price range of gas furnace replacement? I'm no reference to see if the quotes are in the right ball park.