• Jun 4th, 2020 1:11 pm
Tags:
[OP]
Deal Addict
May 14, 2004
1054 posts
947 upvotes
Vancouver
TomRFD wrote: I used Simple Tax for the past few years and had no idea they were sold. We all jumping ship now or what? Seems like Studio Tax is popular in this thread.
I was lucky many years ago found a similar discussion and started with StudioTax. I won't go back to anything else. I was working on my return the first time with the program and I got a question. I posted a note and they replied back, on Sunday! Highly recommended.
Mar 8, 2017
75 posts
82 upvotes
Ottawa
Not sure why people are freaking out about simpletax - the information is encrypted.
Dec 23, 2006
520 posts
158 upvotes
+1 for Studio Tax. I have been using it for >10 years. Works well for me, haven't used another tax filing software so can't compare.
Fido $40 5GB small + $15 4GB tablet data
PM $20 province wide talk
PM $10 50 min 50 txt
Dec 15, 2019
14 posts
15 upvotes
Vancouver, BC
I have been using SimpleTax for the past few years. It's simple to use and is web-based. I have no idea they were sold though, and it looks like StudioTax is more popular here.
Jun 15, 2018
835 posts
341 upvotes
wranglery wrote: Am I correct that TurboTax, H&R Block, UFile, etc. and similar retail programs are only free if income is less than $20,000?
https://www.ufile.ca/tips-and-tools/file-for-free

Others like StudioTax do not have such restriction. But all software programs, free or not, limit 20 returns.
No idea on the limit but it's more than 20k thats for sure.
Deal Addict
Jul 5, 2004
1156 posts
491 upvotes
Frankly speaking I have no idea how this is a Hot Deal. It's more something that should be on the consumer info board.
[OP]
Deal Addict
May 14, 2004
1054 posts
947 upvotes
Vancouver
grasshopper902 wrote: Never understood why anyone would shell out money for TurboTax when there's a free alternative.