Freebies

freephoneline.ca - Free Local Soft Phone Line for lifetime VOIP

Deal Fanatic
Mar 3, 2002
9417 posts
3264 upvotes
h00ch wrote:
Feb 8th, 2016 11:37 am
I've been using Freephoneline for a few years now and recently moved and got a new number, but now the incoming caller ID does not work. Does anyone have any suggestions? I used all the same settings as my previous number at the old house, I just changed the phone number and user name password
What brand and model ATA are you using?
Deal Addict
Jul 12, 2005
4951 posts
249 upvotes
Stoney Creek
Webslinger wrote:
Feb 8th, 2016 1:03 pm
What brand and model ATA are you using?

I have a SPA112, but I saw that the CID setting was set to "no" somehow. I didn't change it and it was set to Yes previously. Oh well, working now. Thanks anyways for the reply :)
Deal Fanatic
Mar 3, 2002
9417 posts
3264 upvotes
h00ch wrote:
Feb 8th, 2016 3:03 pm
I have a SPA112, but I saw that the CID setting was set to "no" somehow. I didn't change it and it was set to Yes previously. Oh well, working now. Thanks anyways for the reply :)
Okay, glad you got it working. I would have asked you to check if you had Block CID enabled, and early SPA112 firmware versions had CID issues.
Deal Fanatic
May 7, 2007
6008 posts
1701 upvotes
So is Freephoneline the best for cheap or free VOIP phone services?

I am going to get SHAW landline home phone on a promo (for $10 / month) ... but after the promo ends, considering getting some other phone service, cheaper one (even VOIP phone service), as I mostly use my cell phone with 24/7 talk time on it ....

I simply might wanna keep the phone number that Shaw issued to me already (my install with them is this Friday -- for TV, internet and Shaw home phone), after that $10 / m. Promo with them ends...

Any suggestions on cheap or free reliable home phone service(s) ... be it landline or VOIP service?

Thanks in advance.

P.S.

BTW, I am in Winnipeg ... (if that matters at all).
Deal Fanatic
Mar 3, 2002