Parenting & Family

French Immersion. Should you? In plain English, it opens doors for your child.

• Last Updated:
  • May 27th, 2019 12:12 pm
[OP]
Aug 17, 2011
3 posts
1 upvote
Toronto

French Immersion. Should you? In plain English, it opens doors for your child.

I thought I'd share my experiences and opinion that FI is the best way to open doors for your child in school, in the job market, and in life. I started FI in SK in one of the pre-amalgamation Toronto boards in the 1980s. I was in the program for "only" 9 years, exiting after gr 8 to attend a non-French HS. But those 9 years were sufficient for me to acquire enough of the language that it laid the foundation for the rest of my academic career.

I of course took regular "core" French in HS. Because of its similiarity to Spanish, I took that too and got top honours in both OACs. What came as a surprise to me, since I majored in biology after HS, was that I ended up taking French electives in university. My French ability, despite exiting FI in gr 8, was strong enough for me to do that. Those electives were critical to me because as a science student, there's some major potential GPA-killer courses that all science undergrads must take. For instance, 2nd year Organic Chem, 3rd year Physiology, etc. I'll be the first to tell you that in terms of the work/effort/time required, humanities language courses demand far far less effort than elective biological science courses. Like 1% the effort/time. No joke. So while my science peers were choosing between all-consuming 3rd year Immunology electives, my workload was diluted with "easy" time-saving French electives, giving me ample time to focus all my efforts on the necessary "hard" science courses I had to take. I can honestly say that I was able to maintain high grades in my science classes BECAUSE of the extra time those French electives allowed me to have. It was like having only 2 or 3 courses to study for, while others had to study for 5.