None
[OP]
Sep 23, 2011
86 posts
39 upvotes
MISSISSAUGA

FRM Designation - Looking for Information/Insight

Hi All,

I'm looking to learn more about the Financial Risk Manager (FRM) designation. As a bit of a background about myself, I have been working for a large Canadian FI for just over four years now. I worked in Operations for my first two years in the bank, and have been in finance over the past couple years. I am also a designated CPA.

I''m looking for a new academic challenge since I completed my accounting designation almost two years ago, and would like to add value to my educational background. I thought about doing my MBA or PMP to bolster my resume and gain new practical knowledge, however after some research I think that I have my sights set on the FRM. All four of my years in the bank have centered around financial control and I think that an FRM would add more value to my resume and compliment my accounting designation well. I also think that the FRM would provide me with an extra tool to pivot out of finance if I wanted to go into other areas of the bank that I am interested in such as risk or credit/lending - which is where my ops experience was.

Has anyone here completed the FRM, and can anyone shed some light or provide me with some additional information or insight? Looking for any information such as the level of difficult of the exams, how much study time did you have to put in, etc. I would likely be writing level one in November 2016 if I did pursue it. For any FRM holders, has the designation added the value to your resume that you had hoped for? I would assume that this designation would only add value if working in an FI of some sort (Bank, Large Insurance Institution, Govt perhaps) but if I left the FI world and went into industry it would not be of much use.

Thanking everyone in advance.
18 replies
Jul 17, 2013
584 posts
94 upvotes
Greenwich, CT
DIEHARD005 wrote: Hi All,