Tags:
[OP]
Deal Addict
Dec 24, 2008
3285 posts
994 upvotes
Belle River

Getting BSOD after recently adding RAM

Well I've also been running different software but I don't recall any BSOD or unattended reboots until after adding the RAM.

I have a stable system I've been using for quite awhile:
i7-8700
MSI Z370M MORTAR
G.Skill Ripjaws 2x16GB 3000Mhz F4-3000C15-16GVR
Radeon Rx 460 fanless
2 M.2 drives and a couple hard drives
Windows 10 Pro

I keep tonnes of tabs open in multiple browsers, various other software I like to keep running like Steam or Epic, not to game but just to communicate or do other tasks, server connections, email, just a bunch of stuff. Recently I started playing with some stuff that made me want more RAM, like virtual machines, so I decided to go up to 64GB total by adding another 32GB, XPG Z1 32GB (2 x 16GB) DDR4 3200MHz AX4U3200716G16A-DBZ.

I let it memtest completely, which does 4 passes by default, all OK. But as I started using the PC I've been having problems. Once it rebooted when I wasn't around, I kinda thought it might have been this math software I started using and had left running. But then twice since then it has BSOD while I've been using it, once without running that math software, in both cases I don't recall doing anything particularly intense, the one today I was just browsing RFD.

I don't think it's temperature related as adding 2 sticks of RAM shouldn't matter much, but I did install Open Hardware Monitor and have it logging, unfortunately I must have exited it at some point yesterday as it was not logging during today's BSOD.

Event Viewer shows nothing each time, no errors or anything obvious, to me at least, prior to the reboots. I believe each time I have had VMs running, at first it might have been through both Windows Hyper-V and VirtualBox, but today I was definitely only running a single Windows 10 VM on Hyper-V. I might try to not leave any VMs running for awhile and see if that makes any difference.