Careers

Getting into programming/software development without a degree - possible?

• Last Updated:
  • Aug 7th, 2021 8:50 pm
[OP]
Oct 9, 2011
611 posts
315 upvotes
EAST YORK

Getting into programming/software development without a degree - possible?

I'm currently working in financial risk management, with about 6 years of experience, and finding that the field and finance in general isn't really for me. I play around with coding for fun now and then and it's a field I'd be really interested in working in. I recently started studying seriously, taking lessons on Javascript, Node.JS, HTML, CSS etc. I've done some research and I'm getting a lot of conflicting information on how necessary it is to have a Computer Science degree to break into the industry. It seems like although it may be possible to get your foot in the door by building a really awesome portfolio, having some kind of post-grad education goes a long way.

I graduated with a completely unrelated university degree, but lately I've been thinking of enrolling in a 2-year computer programming diploma at Algonquin College. It's delivered online so it works out for me as I can do my full-time job and study simultaneously, and have that coveted piece of paper HR seems to love. I'll of course be learning what I have been on my own and continuing to try and build a portfolio of projects.

SO my question is - is the diploma worth it? Would it give my profile an extra punch when I start looking for a job? It's not particularly expensive which is why I'm considering it, and it seems like Algonquin College has a solid reputation at least in the National Capital Region.

Thoughts?
13 replies
Deal Guru
Mar 23, 2008
13006 posts
9961 upvotes
Edmonton