• Last Updated:
  • Dec 11th, 2022 9:50 am
Tags:
[OP]
Dec 1, 2022
14 posts
9 upvotes

GIC Maturity Date not as stated

I’ve been using HSBC for almost 20 years, and have just switched to RBC a few months ago. I’ve got a semi-annual GIC called “Income Builder.” What’s weird is, I don’t get my money on the maturity date stated; instead, I get it on the next business day, or even worse, 2 business days. The money is no longer in the GIC account, but it hasn’t been deposited into my savings account either. Are all the big 5 banks like this?
6 replies
Deal Fanatic
Jan 19, 2017
7721 posts
4496 upvotes
akfdqwer wrote: I’ve been using HSBC for almost 20 years, and have just switched to RBC a few months ago. I’ve got a semi-annual GIC called “Income Builder.” What’s weird is, I don’t get my money on the maturity date stated; instead, I get it on the next business day, or even worse, 2 business days. The money is no longer in the GIC account, but it hasn’t been deposited into my savings account either. Are all the big 5 banks like this?
All CDN banks work on business days only. It makes sense they put money in your acct on the next business day. I am not sure about the 2nd bus. day though.
[OP]
Dec 1, 2022
14 posts
9 upvotes
hwyc2007 wrote: Are you talking about this "Income Builder" GIC ➡ https://online.royalbank.com/cgi-bin/to ... /index.cgi ?
Yes. This type of GIC isn’t offered at HSBC, so I have no experience with it. The GICs at HSBC always pay on the day of maturity; if it matures on Dec 1, the money will be deposited into account according to instruction in the morning. If all big 5 banks deposit matured GICs the next business day, I kind of regret moving to RBC now ☹️
[OP]
Dec 1, 2022
14 posts
9 upvotes
An update: A payment of the GIC was Friday, I didn’t get the money, and still no money on Saturday. Like, I have to wait till Monday? Is this normal? Looks like other Canadian banks don’t operate like this…
Deal Addict
May 16, 2017
2454 posts
3227 upvotes