Students

GMAT or GRE for Lawyer?

• Last Updated:
  • Apr 3rd, 2020 9:49 pm
[OP]
Mar 25, 2020
4 posts

GMAT or GRE for Lawyer?

I am likely going to stay in Canada, but would consider top schools in the US for an MBA. I’m a corporate lawyer at a top Canadian firm right now, and my undergrad is in business from a top business school. I have about 3 years of work experience.

I want to apply to MBA programs, and I’m starting to think about whether I should write the GMAT or GRE. I wrote the LSAT for law school back in 2014 and scored in the 91st percentile.

I took a diagnostic GMAT today without any studying and scored 640. I struggled quite a bit with the quant but the verbal was familiar to me.

I’d be looking to transition out of law and into strategy consulting/similar after MBA.

Any insight on which, if any of the two, would be better for me to write?

Thanks in advance!
1 reply
Deal Addict
Aug 9, 2010
1189 posts
585 upvotes
Waterloo
SpecterH wrote: I am likely going to stay in Canada, but would consider top schools in the US for an MBA. I’m a corporate lawyer at a top Canadian firm right now, and my undergrad is in business from a top business school. I have about 3 years of work experience.

I want to apply to MBA programs, and I’m starting to think about whether I should write the GMAT or GRE. I wrote the LSAT for law school back in 2014 and scored in the 91st percentile.

I took a diagnostic GMAT today without any studying and scored 640. I struggled quite a bit with the quant but the verbal was familiar to me.

I’d be looking to transition out of law and into strategy consulting/similar after MBA.

Any insight on which, if any of the two, would be better for me to write?

Thanks in advance!
I did the GRE last year and got into McGill’s MBA for the 2020 intake. Business background with 4 years of experience in tech sales and partnerships.