good, inexpensive corded drill?

• Last Updated:
  • Jul 9th, 2020 8:19 am
[OP]
Sep 29, 2010
538 posts
765 upvotes

good, inexpensive corded drill?

Any recos for a good, inexpensive corded drill?

Ideally lighter weight since I'll be carrying an extension cord with it, and/or with a case where there's room for the extension cord.

I'm really tired of batteries dying after a couple of years and costing more than I paid for the drill. Face With Tears Of Joy
9 replies
Deal Expert
Oct 6, 2010
15508 posts
10149 upvotes
Toronto
I have a CT mastercraft 5amp drill/driver unit as a backup, weights like 2lbs and is well under $100. The weight will depend on what you need it to do.
DYI difficulty scale:
0-joke
10-no joke
Deal Expert
Jun 12, 2007
18637 posts
6033 upvotes
London
pdipps wrote: Any recos for a good, inexpensive corded drill?

Ideally lighter weight since I'll be carrying an extension cord with it, and/or with a case where there's room for the extension cord.

I'm really tired of batteries dying after a couple of years and costing more than I paid for the drill. Face With Tears Of Joy
Rigid brushless cordless - battery and tool have lifetime warranty
[OP]
Sep 29, 2010
538 posts
765 upvotes
l69norm wrote: Rigid brushless cordless - battery and tool have lifetime warranty
Really? what's the warranty process like? Do I have to pay for shipping?
Deal Expert
Jun 12, 2007
18637 posts
6033 upvotes
London
pdipps wrote: Really? what's the warranty process like? Do I have to pay for shipping?
home-depot-ridgid-18v-brushless-hammer- ... #p32573322
home-depot-ridgid-18v-brushless-hammer- ... #p32566499

"Warranty" must be properly registered/ activated within the timelines.

When the battery in the kit dies, the kit needs to be taken/ sent to a local ridgid service centre

If you have a dead battery,
1. this place can refurbish it with new cells
http://www.chansbattery.ca/
2. Chinese clone batteries are now available, but quality ?
[OP]
Sep 29, 2010
538 posts
765 upvotes