• Sep 9th, 2021 12:39 pm
[OP]
Deal Addict
Nov 4, 2007
1603 posts
794 upvotes
GTA

Got a $80 photo radar speeding ticket for going 42km/h

Mississauga introduced photo radar at a number of locations this summer: https://www.insauga.com/photo-radar-beg ... ext-month/

I'm definitely against excessive speeding in residential areas, but to coincide with placing these photo radars in place, they simultaneously dropped the speed limit from 40km/h to 30km/h.

I just received a letter of offence in the mail that I was going 42 km/h and now have to pay an $80 fine. I've been driving on this road for over 20 years at a 40km/h speed limit. Now that it has dropped to 30km/h, it takes some adjustment.

I've been driving in Ontario for over 3 decades without so much as a parking or speeding ticket. This is my first. To me, this is just a money grab.
Last edited by kasm on Sep 4th, 2021 11:38 am, edited 3 times in total.
74 replies
Temp. Banned
Jun 4, 2020
1634 posts
1657 upvotes
Clarington, ON
It’s a grab yes. Pay the ticket and walk away.

It doesn’t go against your record.
Apr 25, 2018
164 posts
202 upvotes
Ottawa, ON
agree, money grab... it's tough for limits that low. I can't imagine what type of road actually justifies 30km/h...
Deal Addict
Jun 13, 2010
3606 posts
3790 upvotes
GTA
There's nothing to fight. You were going faster than the posted speed limit. They won't care how long you've been driving on that road.
Deal Fanatic
Feb 4, 2015
7004 posts
3242 upvotes
Canada, Eh!!
Alligatorclip wrote: agree, money grab... it's tough for limits that low. I can't imagine what type of road actually justifies 30km/h...
School zones? Although can't recall any 30 km/h streets in our area.

In some jurisdictions school zone speeds are 25 km/h.

In our area they are 40 km/h but rarely observed... now getting photo speed cams so hopefully catch the speeders who are doing 60 km/h +
July 13, 2017 to October 25, 2018: BOC raised rates 5 times and MCAP raised its prime rate next day each time.