• Last Updated:
  • Jul 3rd, 2016 10:36 am
Tags:
None
Jun 28, 2016
8 posts

GPA matter for Computer Science?

Hi this is my first posting...
I want to ask something regarding Computer programming career...
Is the GPA at the University like York.... quite matter for getting a good job??

I had never studied about computer programming before I studied at "York university."
and... so I believe that I studied harder than other students to catch up those who already enjoyed programming at their high schools.
As a result, I got all A+ at all the courses regarding all Math, including discrete and linear algebra, and intro. computer programming courses, such as Java and JavaScript, for first year at the University.

However, I studied 2nd year programming courses and the course materials were much harder than before... the advanced courses were hard for me... So I got A and B+ for some advanced computer related courses and A+ for other math courses... the average major GPA is A for that year... But I was little frustrated... because my University is York.... I have heard that if I study at York, then I should get around high A or near A+ to get a good job .. is that true...?
ha...
because of too much stress, I cannot focus on the studying.....

Is the GPA at the University like York.... quite matter for getting a first job??

Thanks.... please give me some advice

Claude..
18 replies
Deal Fanatic
Nov 15, 2013
5761 posts
3916 upvotes
Toronto
There is a forum for Students so this is in the wrong place.

That said York offers something called PEP which is an internship program. You need a B average to qualify for it so you should be fine. If you're willing to invest the time, it'll do wonders for your job prospects. I have friends that did it and they came out with jobs.