None
[OP]
Deal Addict
Dec 6, 2008
2126 posts
497 upvotes
Milton, Ontario

GPU's what to buy, when to by ?

Can anyone explain me what GPU's will be out in the next year ?
I'm not that good at gpu tech and I'm already lost on what's available and what is coming out soon.
I know there's 1080 and 1070 recently released but I read here and there that it's not what people were waiting for, something about memory ?
Anyway trying to decide when to upgrade my video cards, currently on SLI 670 running on 34'' 21:9 monitor.
I game a bit, and I see that sli 670 is struggling to run my monitor, don't need the best tech available to run on ultra, but would be nice to run games on high again :)
16 replies
Deal Addict
Apr 27, 2017
1753 posts
1170 upvotes
Calgary
1070 is what I'm waiting for.
But there's a budget friendly card coming out from AMD soon.
Aug 27, 2008
606 posts
120 upvotes
montreal
I think my 980ti will run Battlefield 1 just fine, i should be good for at least two more years. I don't think gpu's have issues with memory bandwidth but the next big thing in memory is HBM2. Cards will probably show up with that sometime in 2017. I just wait until my card isnt running games at around 60fps, once that happens I wait for the next big card to be released and buy it. I don't find waiting a long time after a card is released to be worthwhile, sales on gpu's have been infrequent and lousy in recent years.
Deal Addict
Oct 9, 2010
2760 posts
917 upvotes
Windsor
In the next 12 months
- nVidia will have released their budget lines (no word on what those will be / pricing at this point), and likely "fancy" versions of the top-end GPUs (overclocked, higher memory bandwidth, faster memory, etc).
- AMD "budget" GPUs will be out in the next week, and in the next 12 months, their top-end ones will come out, and possibly "fancy" versions of those GPUs (overclocked, higher memory bandwidth, faster memory, etc)