• Apr 19th, 2021 8:26 pm
Tags:
None
[OP]
May 7, 2013
8 posts
Westmount

gst/hst amendment

i have to amend my 2019 gst/hst return through revenu quebec and i wanted to know if anyone here has amended a return in which a gst refund was previously issued and now has tax due

it is my first time filing an amendment in my 10 years since i registered for gst/hst and want to make sure i don't have any issues.

i noticed recently that $20 000 of sales for Ontario customers were only rated 5% in my books rather than the 13% so my line 105 will be adjusted to include the extra $1600 . I also did not include $4200 of zero rated exports that were made on line 91 which i will now be adding.

Is it better to include this explanation in the amendment or do i just file the amendment and explain it if i am contacted ? i want to make sure i do not cause any issues for myself before mailing the amendment
3 replies
Deal Fanatic
Aug 21, 2007
5680 posts
609 upvotes
Markham
dellyz wrote: i have to amend my 2019 gst/hst return through revenu quebec and i wanted to know if anyone here has amended a return in which a gst refund was previously issued and now has tax due

it is my first time filing an amendment in my 10 years since i registered for gst/hst and want to make sure i don't have any issues.

i noticed recently that $20 000 of sales for Ontario customers were only rated 5% in my books rather than the 13% so my line 105 will be adjusted to include the extra $1600 . I also did not include $4200 of zero rated exports that were made on line 91 which i will now be adding.

Is it better to include this explanation in the amendment or do i just file the amendment and explain it if i am contacted ? i want to make sure i do not cause any issues for myself before mailing the amendment
how frequently do you file?
Oct 8, 2019
159 posts
94 upvotes