Careers

Has anyone here just said f*** this and changed their career?

• Last Updated:
  • Nov 21st, 2019 10:38 pm
Tags:
[OP]
Deal Guru
Aug 14, 2007
10724 posts
1869 upvotes
Toronto

Has anyone here just said f*** this and changed their career?

Long story short, I've been doing what I do for 14 years and quite literally dread going into work on a daily basis working for someone else and am going to start making a business plan for a business I actually want to do/run.

Why? After 14 years (nearly) I feel like I just can't take the bs anymore from certain areas of what I do, this past week I've nearly been hit by (let's just say people not looking where they're going) various types of machinery only to have it shrugged off like nothing is wrong and that I am the one at fault. Trust me there's a LOT of other reasons, that's only one of them.

There's 2 business plans I have, one I can easily do myself unless it gets stupidly busy the other I would need a few people most likely, not sure how to start either of them but am looking into several resources. However I don't plan to just up and quitting and hope for the best, not yet at least for financial reasons (I have an ok amount of savings to live jobless for about 2 years maybe 3 regardless of that).

So, has anyone just said screw it and walked away and gone on to something else?
64 replies
Deal Expert
Aug 22, 2011
34535 posts
20576 upvotes
Center of Universe
I'm not ready to throw in the towel yet and if I ever do, it would definitely be some sort of business venture, as I wouldn't leave to go and work for another company.
[OP]
Deal Guru
Aug 14, 2007
10724 posts
1869 upvotes
Toronto
vkizzle wrote: I'm not ready to throw in the towel yet and if I ever do, it would definitely be some sort of business venture, as I wouldn't leave to go and work for another company.
That's what I'm thinking too.