[OP]
Deal Addict
May 11, 2005
1968 posts
130 upvotes
Ajax, ON, Canada

heading to Europe and I need advice for my credit and bank card

Hey guys,

I will be heading down to Europe in May for a cruise and we are going to visit seven countries plus me and my mom are both heading to Paris, France for two days.

Right now, I have a BMO Mastercard and two President's Choice Financial bank cards. All three do not have chips on them, as I understand that most European countries have already transitioned to the chip system.

I need some advice on how can I handle situations in which a merchant doesn't accept my non-chip card for whatever reason. This similar instance reminded me of when a bus driver had refused my transit pass for so many reasons, which I can't explain it in detail (silly statement to ask, but I have to).

Anyways, if a merchant in Europe doesn't accept my credit card, who should I contact?

I was planning to apply for another credit card just for that trip, but I would like to offer you guys some advice you can give me - if you can. Thanks.
23 replies
Deal Expert
Feb 9, 2003
19245 posts
3480 upvotes
9347934 downvotes
Doesn't BMO have chip cards yet? Could you phone them and ask them to send you a chip card? You should be phoning your CC company anyway before you go on vacation, so they don't decline your card while you're there. I always do that before I go away, ever since I got to Mexico once and realized that my CC didn't work.
[OP]
Deal Addict
May 11, 2005
1968 posts
130 upvotes
Ajax, ON, Canada
i6s1 wrote: Doesn't BMO have chip cards yet? Could you phone them and ask them to send you a chip card? You should be phoning your CC company anyway before you go on vacation, so they don't decline your card while you're there. I always do that before I go away, ever since I got to Mexico once and realized that my CC didn't work.