Help with DZ Licence

• Last Updated:
  • Apr 14th, 2019 11:47 am
Tags:
[OP]
Nov 8, 2014
2 posts

Help with DZ Licence

Hi I'm looking for some help with getting my DZ. My current situation is that when transfering over my Licence from England to Canada I lost my motorcycle and tractor trailer class on my license. I now only have a full G. I have passed the knowledge test for the DZ and have set a date with the drive test centre for the end of MAY. I was hoping to get a lesson or two in a vehicle and do the test in the same vehicle. After calling up several places and explaining that I have driven trucks for over 8 years and that I wouldn't be starting out as a beginner I was told that I would need to book a full course with every school which is over $1000 lowest price I found being $900. I really dont have this type of money at the moment as I've already spent over $300 on getting a medical and booking the DZ test already. The reason I'm also getting it done is I will have a good chance of getting a much better paying job if I get my DZ before the end of June.

I'm wondering does anyone have any recommendations for places that would go over the test with me mainly what they ask for the air brake practical and let me do the test in there Vehicle. I was thinking about renting a penske truck but would rather be more familiar with the truck as some things may be slightly different. Appreciate any help thanks.
6 replies
Deal Fanatic
Jul 4, 2004
5289 posts
1353 upvotes
Ottawa
I believe there are places that rent cube vans that have a large enough capacity that you can use them to do the practical test but when empty, they are light enough that you can drive them with a G. (e.g. https://www.pensketruckleasing.com/nort ... nt-trucks/). That said, I'm not sure if they have air brakes. If they do, you might not be able to rent one if you don't have Z endorsement.