• Last Updated:
  • Dec 26th, 2020 7:33 pm
[OP]
Dec 23, 2020
6 posts
1 upvote

Help with Scotia itrade CAD & USD accounts

Hi
I am new to scotia itrade & investing. I traded US shares in CAD account and realized they loot you on exchange rate ridiculously. I have tried to call them and been waiting for hours in vain. now i still have other US shares in the CAD account. How can I minimize my losses? I have raised service requests to transfer shares from CAD to USD account, but havent heard back nor can I track those requests anywhere. can someone please help me with what can I do?
6 replies
Deal Addict
Jan 16, 2007
1312 posts
1479 upvotes
The currency exchange happens when a transaction occurs. The fact it's currently held in the CAD account doesn't matter, until a transaction occurs. If you want to sell those shares and keep it in USD, then you have to wait until the service request is complete. If you want to place new trades on the USD side then you have to get USD into that account somehow (currency exchange with iTRADE, selling existing, transferring in from a Canadian bank account denominated in USD, Norbert's Gambit).
🏦 Banking: Alterna Bank (1.1%, No fees), Motive Financial (1.25%, No fees)
📈 Investing: Scotia iTRADE (XGRO, No fees)
💳 Spending: Scotia Amex Gold (5pts dine/3pts drive, forex), Amex SCP (2%, rest), Brim World Mastercard (1.5%, non-Amex spend)
[OP]
Dec 23, 2020
6 posts
1 upvote