Investing

Helping My Mom Buy Gold Certificates - CIBC Investor's Edge?

• Last Updated:
  • Dec 24th, 2020 3:58 pm
[OP]
Deal Addict
Dec 27, 2013
3651 posts
1394 upvotes
Woodbridge

Helping My Mom Buy Gold Certificates - CIBC Investor's Edge?

My mom wants to buy about $10,000 in gold certificates in a TFSA. She's looking at CIBC Investor's Edge and was asking if I know if other banks are better. I have no experience with anything beyond Questrade. She wants to just buy them and let them sit there. I don't think she plans on buying more or investing in anything else through this particular account. She just wants to get the $10k worth of gold certificates and let them sit there until... I guess I give her grandchildren and they need money for college. Anyway, the question is - is there a big difference between CIBC Investor's Edge or whatever the equivalent TD, BMO, RBC, or Scotia investing accounts are? Ideally, she'd open an account that allows her to transfer money directly from her Tangerine account into the investment account rather than having to open a separate chequing account from which to transfer to the investing account. Also, are there significant differences in monthly/quarterly/annual fees? Thanks for your help!
27 replies
Deal Addict
Oct 14, 2015
1761 posts
1898 upvotes
For comparison, here are the fees RBC charges for gold certificates.

Click on image:

RBC DI fees.png
[OP]
Deal Addict
Dec 27, 2013
3651 posts
1394 upvotes
Woodbridge
IrwinW wrote: For comparison, here are the fees RBC charges for gold certificates.

Click on image:

RBC DI fees.png
Thank you. That's helpful. Do you know what sort of quarterly/annual fee RBC charges for having certificates just sitting in a TFSA with no other trading?
Deal Addict
Oct 14, 2015
1761 posts
1898 upvotes
OntEdTchr wrote: Thank you. That's helpful. Do you know what sort of quarterly/annual fee RBC charges for having certificates just sitting in a TFSA with no other trading?