Tags:
[OP]
Deal Expert
Jan 27, 2006
16854 posts
9627 upvotes
Vancouver, BC

The Hitchhiker's Guide to Contracting?

After years of being an employee for large firms, the time has come in my professional life for me to start looking at becoming a contractor. Since I'm new to the contracting game, what are some good links or websites for me to review in terms of contracting (ie best practices, pitfalls, common mistakes...)?
12 replies
Feb 9, 2009
719 posts
285 upvotes
It all depends what exactly do you want to do as a self-employed contractor, if that's what you mean? But if you mean to be placed in a position at a large company as a contractor through an employment agency, which will in turn report and tax you as their employee for the time you are still in that placement, its a different game and rules. Winking Face
[OP]
Deal Expert
Jan 27, 2006
16854 posts
9627 upvotes
Vancouver, BC
Basically, project management in the healthcare IT field.
Feb 9, 2009
719 posts
285 upvotes
I guess that would put you in the 2nd category in the above classification, since one can hardly come to a hospital and offer his independent IT services. They're likely to work with a known IT firm, since privacy matters may be involved, may result in costly law suites, and require not only NDA, but also some certainty in it, and a team. So a possible action plan would be to send your resume to employment agencies specialized in IT firms staffing stressing your experience. If I were looking for such job, I may also visit some dental and eye care private clinics in the area to get some sense if this is the right avenue and what can it bring, since they generate good revenue (check best review & new places 1st) and are less bureaucratic compare to hospitals.