Expired Hot Deals

[Home Depot] 149$ Milwaukee M12 FUEL - free battery with select purchase

• Last Updated:
  • Nov 8th, 2019 12:36 pm
Sep 15, 2015
228 posts
122 upvotes
Why not just get a 20V dewalt for the same price?
Jan 18, 2017
183 posts
131 upvotes
does this hammer drill have the option to go into a non hammer status?? Total newbie tool guy here

Also can someone explain the difference between having a hammer drill vs impact and why somebody would need either on or the other? Watched some youtube and still don't get it..just really to need this around the house and cottage..
Jun 6, 2010
171 posts
50 upvotes
Winnipeg
bpopman67 wrote: does this hammer drill have the option to go into a non hammer status?? Total newbie tool guy here

Also can someone explain the difference between having a hammer drill vs impact and why somebody would need either on or the other? Watched some youtube and still don't get it..just really to need this around the house and cottage..
Yes hammer drill has 3 modes, drill, hammer and clutched (for screwing).

Hammer drill is a regular drill for drilling holes, has a clutch to reduce torque when driving screws, and adds the hammer mode. The hammer mode is for drilling concrete, it 'hammers' the bit in and out to help it go thru.

The impact driver is for driving screws, you can also use it for drilling but you are limited to a 1/4" hex shanked bit. Impact driver will hammer the fastener clockwise or anti-clockwise to help drive it deeper. It makes it faster to drive long screws into wood.

Both have their purpose and use case.
Jan 18, 2017
183 posts
131 upvotes
Bonder wrote: Yes hammer drill has 3 modes, drill, hammer and clutched (for screwing).

Hammer drill is a regular drill for drilling holes, has a clutch to reduce torque when driving screws, and adds the hammer mode. The hammer mode is for drilling concrete, it 'hammers' the bit in and out to help it go thru.