Hotmail, Live, Outlook Spam Filters Broken

• Last Updated:
  • Jan 22nd, 2020 8:25 am
Deal Addict
Nov 22, 2003
3733 posts
2064 upvotes

Hotmail, Live, Outlook Spam Filters Broken

I've suddenly been getting loads of spam directly in my "Focused" Inbox over the last 48 hours. This is despite using a sender whitelist. There's definitely a problem as I can see thousands complaining about it on Downdetector and similar websites yet I have yet to see Microsoft publicly acknowledge the problem. Anyone have this issue and/or have any inside knowledge about what is going on? If this doesn't get fixed soon, I'm going to jump to another E-Mail provider. I've been using my current E-Mail address since 1998.
16 replies
Deal Fanatic
Aug 29, 2001
6586 posts
1749 upvotes
rural ontario
I have the opposite problem, most of my mail in outlook gets caught by its spam filter that cannot be turned off. Every week I have to check it.
72 69 6c 6c 65 73
Deal Addict
Nov 22, 2003
3733 posts
2064 upvotes
rilles wrote: I have the opposite problem, most of my mail in outlook gets caught by its spam filter that cannot be turned off. Every week I have to check it.
Are you using the "safe senders" whitelist?
Deal Fanatic
Aug 29, 2001
6586 posts
1749 upvotes
rural ontario
txenglan wrote: Are you using the "safe senders" whitelist?
Easier not to bother with outlook then keep adding new senders to a whitelist.

That being said, a bit of googling and it's a common problem. Hack is to make a rule to forwards all inbound email to yourself which bypasses the filters. I will try this.
72 69 6c 6c 65 73
Aug 1, 2009
25 posts
10 upvotes
I've been experiencing the same thing for about a week. Hopefully Microsoft clues in soon and fixes the problem.
Deal Addict
Nov 22, 2003
3733 posts
2064 upvotes
rilles wrote: Easier not to bother with outlook then keep adding new senders to a whitelist.