Real Estate

House rental raising monthly rent

• Last Updated:
  • Feb 14th, 2022 10:14 pm
Feb 25, 2019
23 posts
6 upvotes

House rental raising monthly rent

Not sure if this is the right place ask.

I've been renting a semi-detached townhouse to a tenant for a couple years.

For the entire house, I'm only charging $1,600/month, all the houses near the area are charging at least $2,000+ minimum.

So I'm just wondering are there any ways to increase the rent to $2,000/month? Or do I have to stick to the government guideline and only allowed to increase 1.2%?

Thanks in advance.
51 replies
Deal Fanatic
Mar 21, 2010
6737 posts
3998 upvotes
Toronto
When was it built and first occupied (not as a rental, but overall)?
May 7, 2015
951 posts
1529 upvotes
Toronto, ON
You can do anything you want.

Ask them, if they agree you’re good to go.

If they don’t and you live in Ontario you can’t force them.
Oct 6, 2017
407 posts
453 upvotes
Assuming you are in Ontario, you have 3 options;

1. Suck it up

2. Ask the tenant nicely and see how much increase you can get out of them if they agree to

3. If you can't accept the rent loss emotionally, sell the property, pay capital gain tax, and then buy another and charge as much as you want to begin with. Thumbs Up Sign
Oct 6, 2017
407 posts
453 upvotes
I'm in the same boat as well. One of my properties is at least $300 below market rent, but I'm a new landlord so I'm just sucking it up for now and getting some experience under my belt.
Mar 31, 2013
346 posts
1112 upvotes
Courtenay, BC
Try not to stress about the money too much......if they are a good tenant count your blessings......if you ever have a bad tenant you will understand where I am coming from
Deal Addict
Oct 14, 2010
1292 posts
1788 upvotes
Toronto
phantomfj wrote: Try not to stress about the money too much......if they are a good tenant count your blessings......if you ever have a bad tenant you will understand where I am coming from