Shopping Discussion

How can sellers on ebay sell original products for so much cheaper? (ex laptop adapter)

• Last Updated:
  • Aug 26th, 2017 2:50 pm
Tags:
[OP]
Nov 26, 2014
237 posts
613 upvotes
Vancouver, BC

How can sellers on ebay sell original products for so much cheaper? (ex laptop adapter)

Hi, newbie here, I made a couple of threads asking for help getting adapter/charger for my Vostro laptop, someone suggested ebay, and yes, I've never bought anything from Ebay before. So I went there and I'm perplexed by all these offers.
For instance:
http://www.ebay.ca/itm/Genuine-DELL-Vos ... g#shpCntId
If the link doesn't show up, it says "Genuine DELL Vostro 3460 3560 3360 Laptop AC Adapter Charger Power Supply 90W". The seller has "99.2% Positive feedback". It says "new", I searched for "refurbished" on the page and it does not show up so it must be new. Now of course I live in Vancouver so there'll be like 15 bucks shipping charge, but still. It sells for 22. Compare that with Dell, which sells them like well over a hundred bucks.
Homer: "Potato man."
10 replies
[OP]
Nov 26, 2014
237 posts
613 upvotes
Vancouver, BC
carmaster wrote: "New condition"
Oh, so how is that different from new?
Homer: "Potato man."
Deal Addict
Feb 6, 2008
1288 posts
1018 upvotes
Hamilton
It's a "compatible" adapter, not the exact same one manufactured for Dell.
Deal Fanatic
Oct 26, 2008
6859 posts
2654 upvotes
BC
Although the heading says "Genuine Dell ..", further down the description says, "works as genuine parts".

And if you lookout the actual item pictures (smaller ones) you can see the charger is quite different from the Dell one in the main picture. Different shape and cord comes off the edge and not the centre.

99.2% feedback score isn't bad, but I see even some of the positive ones mention that it is not a genuine part (various different items than Dell charger).