Careers

How to deal with being passed over for a promotion.

[OP]
Jul 9, 2019
693 posts
2614 upvotes

How to deal with being passed over for a promotion.

I work in sales and topped the charts during Black Friday, Boxing day, in fact gulf between me at 1st position and 2nd position was HUGE. I got praised several times in team’s group chat for this.

I worked for this company around 9 months, somehow I learnt things really fast and was forced to train newly hired employee’s when I myself was pretty new to job. So new employee’s used to shadow me for like a week or two my entire shift.

Now one of the individuals who shadowed me got promoted, I’m happy for individual as that person works hard with great uplifting attitude. But I have this disappointment at back of my head, why I’m not getting any raise or position promotion?

I have started to self doubt myself, maybe I don’t have a good vibe that my managers are not happy, I’m bit reserved kind of individual and generally do not mingle with other departments. I was once told this feedback by my team lead that I have to go extra mile in this.

Is it time for me to look for another job?
78 replies
Nov 28, 2016
781 posts
933 upvotes
Why not ask your manager about it?

Honestly though 9 months is a bit of a short term for a promotion but that's just based on my experience. Perhaps you work place is structured differently.
Deal Fanatic
Jul 13, 2009
5070 posts
3251 upvotes
Ask for feedback but tread carefully and professionally. You don't want to sound like anything less than a professional which would further kill your chances of promotion.
Apr 16, 2009
167 posts
21 upvotes
Could it be that the promoted person is more experienced than you? I mean, experience from previous companies, not from your current company.
Deal Expert
Mar 9, 2007
15003 posts
11526 upvotes
Think of the Childre…
It's called "Sucking Up to your bosses".

WOULD SOMEBODY THINK OF THE CHILDREN!!!
Deal Addict
Jul 30, 2003
2014 posts
386 upvotes
Toronto