• Last Updated:
  • May 28th, 2021 12:39 pm
[OP]
May 2, 2021
1 posts
1 upvote

How do I become a nurse in Ontario Canada with my previous degree

Hello everyone,
I am a Registered Midwife in Nigeria, did my BNSc in a school in the UK, just graduated (Jan 2021). I recently did my ECA with WES and my education is equivalent to a BSc in Canada, but I currently live in Nigeria.
My question is, how do I become a Registered Nurse in Canada, Ontario to be precise? We are currently working on our PR to Canada and we should have gotten it in the next six months by Gods grace
How do I start the process, please I need your help
11 replies
Deal Guru
Mar 23, 2008
12673 posts
9289 upvotes
Edmonton
You can start here:
https://www.nnas.ca/

Please be cautious. I am NOT familiar with that organization, but there are a number of organizations that assist with assisting foreign medical workers becoming licensed in Canada. I am familiar with AIMGA (which is Alberta focused), but was only involved with the physician side of things. I don't know if they offer assistance for nurses as well, but they might be able to direct you.
https://aimga.ca/

Good luck!

C
Deal Addict
Jun 27, 2006
1769 posts
2048 upvotes
I know of someone who was a nurse in Italy before coming to Canada. I haven't seen him for a couple of years but be prepared for a long process with a lot of hurdles as the professional bodies have high expectations for anyone coming from outside the country. The number of slots for people with foreign qualifications is limited to a small number each year. Be prepared as it can be quite stressful. Please do your research and have realistic expectations. Good luck!
Deal Guru
Oct 7, 2010
10217 posts
2001 upvotes
I dont see the value in trying to come in when you can stay in the UK to practice. The professional bodies in countries are there to give foreigner a hard time to be licensed. That for all regulated professionals.
Deal Addict
Nov 13, 2013
2896 posts
1606 upvotes
Ottawa