Automotive

How frequently does a rock smash your windshield?

• Last Updated:
  • Mar 21st, 2019 8:32 am
[OP]
Feb 4, 2013
236 posts
352 upvotes

How frequently does a rock smash your windshield?

A rock smashed my windshield and it needs to be replaced. Being a high tech windshield with heating and sensors and all that garbage, I was quoted between 1300 and 1500 for the job. My comprehensive insurance deductible is $750 so that's what I'll be paying out of pocket.

I can lower the deductible to $250 by paying around $120 extra per year. So assuming I smash a windshield every 4 years or more, it'll be worth it.

I've been driving for around 10 years now and this is my first smashed windshield. So have I been lucky overall? What's your personal experience?
40 replies
Deal Guru
Feb 11, 2007
11762 posts
11378 upvotes
Oakville
I've never changed a windshield in 20+ years of driving. My current 17 year old windshield does have a couple small rock chips, But nothing worth the trouble of replacing.
I have no windshield coverage so I'm saving every year. Plus if I did have to replace, I wouldn't have a claim on my account so rates should stay low vs having claims.

If you tailgate dump trucks you're going to have more rock chips. If you live in Calgary it seems you're going to have chips no matter what, as there are lots of trucks, it's seems the city uses gravel when it snows, and it's very cold, all which lead to cracked windshield. I couldn't believe the number of cars I saw there with damaged windshields. People seem to have given up replacing them there, lol.
Deal Addict
Feb 4, 2010
1972 posts
991 upvotes
I think I've had a total of 3 cracks in my driving career due to stones- the last one was last year and was able to get it fixed for "free"...insurance covered but it was only $50. The other 2 times it was a huge crack that needed to be replaced...but I was a teenager driving my parents' car so it wasn't me lol and other time I sold the car as is.
Deal Addict