Students

How hard is Commerce (BAS) at York University?

• Last Updated:
  • Jan 6th, 2017 10:00 pm
Oct 12, 2016
1 posts

How hard is Commerce (BAS) at York University?

Hello, everyone!

I'm a mature student planning to go to York University for my second bachelor's degree (Bachelor of Commerce) next year in September (Fall 2017).

I've recently graduated from University of Toronto with an Honours Bachelor of Science degree in Psychology, but my GPA is very low (60s). I'd like to switch my fields and fresh start in Business.

I'd like to know how hard is York University? I mean, how hard are the assignments, exams, etc. at York University. Do they also have HARD markers at York University who mark essays/papers extremely hard? What's the format of questions of most exams (i.e. multiple choice, short answers, etc.)

In short, how hard is it to get an A at York University in their Commerce program (formerly known as Administrative Studies - BAS). I'm planning to study Accounting and Finance at York University.

Thank you.
9 replies
Deal Fanatic
Mar 24, 2004
8683 posts
573 upvotes
Toronto
Congrats for deciding to go back to school.

It's difficult to convey the difficulty of a school; since everyone's experience is different. I also went to UofT and graduated with a laughable GPA; and now back to school again.

I think you'll be fine. Especially since it's your second time around, you'll take things way more seriously (go to extra help/office hours, not leave things to last minute, etc).

Good luck.
Deal Addict
Jan 1, 2015
1261 posts
1416 upvotes
Toronto, ON
No, it's York. Just keep updated with your readings and avoid the food court area at night. There's lots of goons there
Sep 29, 2008
965 posts
200 upvotes
Mississauga
It shouldn't be hard, I would imagine science at U of T is harder.
May 11, 2015
241 posts
133 upvotes
Toronto