• Jan 18th, 2021 12:19 pm
[OP]
Deal Expert
Nov 28, 2016
18231 posts
2308 upvotes
Out west

How long after house sale can new owners come to you

What is the time limit after selling a house can the owner come back to you for deficiencies or issues found, etc. There has to be a cut off after you sold
140 replies
Nov 13, 2019
128 posts
31 upvotes
WikkiWikki wrote: What is the time limit after selling a house can the owner come back to you for deficiencies or issues found, etc. There has to be a cut off after you sold
I'm no expert on this topic but unless it's stated somewhere on the contract, didn't that ship sale the moment you closed?

As a new homeowner I had no idea I could bug the seller for all the deficiencies I found after the fact lol
[OP]
Deal Expert
Nov 28, 2016
18231 posts
2308 upvotes
Out west
timofeewho wrote: I'm no expert on this topic but unless it's stated somewhere on the contract, didn't that ship sale the moment you closed?

As a new homeowner I had no idea I could bug the seller for all the deficiencies I found after the fact lol
No, there is a time line for things, as in you find an obvious hiding of a water leak, etc. Im just not sure what it is. As for contracts, these days, doesnt seem to matter anymore
Nov 13, 2019
128 posts
31 upvotes
WikkiWikki wrote: No, there is a time line for things, as in you find an obvious hiding of a water leak, etc. Im just not sure what it is. As for contracts, these days, doesnt seem to matter anymore
Interesting, I'd love to know too then!
Deal Expert
Aug 2, 2004
33219 posts
6884 upvotes
East Gwillimbury
Must be a west coast thing.

In Ontario, it is the buyer’s responsibility to get a home inspection and address any issues before closing. Once you close, it’s so long sucka.
Deal Expert
May 10, 2005
35811 posts
9894 upvotes
Ottawa
Gee wrote: Must be a west coast thing.