Entrepreneurship & Small Business

How long can I keep the money in the company?

• Last Updated:
  • Sep 16th, 2017 10:51 pm
Tags:
[OP]
Jul 5, 2006
430 posts
192 upvotes

How long can I keep the money in the company?

I am an IT consultant and incorporated. If I stop consulting business, my company will have no income. I wonder whether I can leave all the money there until I retire as long as I file tax return every year. If yes, there is clear tax benefits since I only need to pay for the corp tax. Can I keep on claiming some business expenses? I was told only for three years after no income. Is this true?
13 replies
Deal Addict
Aug 19, 2013
2397 posts
1080 upvotes
right4you wrote: I am an IT consultant and incorporated. If I stop consulting business, my company will have no income. I wonder whether I can leave all the money there until I retire as long as I file tax return every year. If yes, there is clear tax benefits since I only need to pay for the corp tax. Can I keep on claiming some business expenses? I was told only for three years after no income. Is this true?
The income can remain in the corporation as long as you like.

I don't know where you heard this 3 year thing but it's total bs and whomever told you that knows nothing about accounting.

You can only deduct expenses that relates to earning income. If you are not earning any income you have no expenses.
[OP]
Jul 5, 2006
430 posts
192 upvotes
Momof3cuties wrote: The income can remain in the corporation as long as you like.

I don't know where you heard this 3 year thing but it's total bs and whomever told you that knows nothing about accounting.

You can only deduct expenses that relates to earning income. If you are not earning any income you have no expenses.
How about my company keeps on looking for something but cannot find any so the income is zero. Can I claim expense in this case? If yes, for how long?