Careers

How much should I charge for my services?

• Last Updated:
  • Jul 13th, 2012 7:37 am
Tags:
None
[OP]
Oct 3, 2008
549 posts
75 upvotes

How much should I charge for my services?

So, I'm thinking of starting a side business where I do online marketing for small businesses. I have a business degree, and about 5 years of experience with online marketing, as that's what I do for my full time job.

I'm on a salary here in my full time job, so I don't know what I should charge a small business owner for my services and time. Let's say I have a client who doesn't know much about online marketing and hires me to take care of this for him/her. I then do some SEO, Adwords campaigns, social media management for them, etc.

What's all this worth???? I'm just thinking about doing some freelance stuff, but am unsure of what people would be willing to pay in a small business.
7 replies
Deal Addict
Jul 11, 2010
2959 posts
137 upvotes
manyapples wrote: So, I'm thinking of starting a side business where I do online marketing for small businesses. I have a business degree, and about 5 years of experience with online marketing, as that's what I do for my full time job.

I'm on a salary here in my full time job, so I don't know what I should charge a small business owner for my services and time. Let's say I have a client who doesn't know much about online marketing and hires me to take care of this for him/her. I then do some SEO, Adwords campaigns, social media management for them, etc.

What's all this worth???? I'm just thinking about doing some freelance stuff, but am unsure of what people would be willing to pay in a small business.
To be honest, because you're doing this on the side, you should individualize you pay according to the client, his/her needs/wishes and what your time is worth to perform those services.

Also, check the market rate.
Banned
Jun 30, 2012
513 posts
21 upvotes