Investing

How to rebalance Canadian Couch Potato with the updated 2015 model?

• Last Updated:
  • Jun 1st, 2015 3:55 pm
Deal Addict
Mar 17, 2004
1313 posts
48 upvotes

How to rebalance Canadian Couch Potato with the updated 2015 model?

So it's my first time rebalancing my CCP portfolio, and to my surprise when i went to the CCP site, the ETF models have completely changed.
I have read some of the reasons on the site, mainly being just to simplify things: http://canadiancouchpotato.com/2015/01/ ... -for-2015/

The one's i carry now:
ZCN - Canadian Equity
VTI - US Equity
VXUS - International Equity
ZRE - Real estate investment trusts
XRB - Real return bonds
XBB - Canadian Bonds

The new one is simply:
VAB - Canadian Aggregate Bonds
VCN - Canadian Equity
VXC - All non Canadian

Question I have:
- I understand VXC replaces VTI & VXUS because of the complications of USD, but I have access to USD so should i just stick to the VTI & VXUS combo?
- REITS are cut off now. Should i sell off my ZRE or keep my current percentage?
- Same question with XRB since real return bonds are cut?
- Is VAB the direct replacement for XBB with just lower MER? If so is it worth selling off my existing XBB for VAB or selling fees offset this.
- ZCN & VCN look the exact same to me, same MER. Any reason to switch?

Btw i trade with Questrade

Thanks in advance!
8 replies
Deal Fanatic
May 11, 2014
6582 posts
9090 upvotes
Rankin Inlet, NU
the watcher wrote: So it's my first time rebalancing my CCP portfolio, and to my surprise when i went to the CCP site, the ETF models have completely changed.
I have read some of the reasons on the site, mainly being just to simplify things: http://canadiancouchpotato.com/2015/01/ ... -for-2015/

The one's i carry now:
ZCN - Canadian Equity
VTI - US Equity
VXUS - International Equity
ZRE - Real estate investment trusts
XRB - Real return bonds
XBB - Canadian Bonds

The new one is simply:
VAB - Canadian Aggregate Bonds
VCN - Canadian Equity