• Last Updated:
  • Aug 1st, 2022 5:55 pm
[OP]
Nov 15, 2019
108 posts
48 upvotes

HST Housing Rebates - Update

Hi All,

I am a lawyer focusing on HST Housing Rebates, and I posted an update a few months ago explaining that due to the COVID-19 situation, Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) had stopped processing and auditing HST Rebate Applications.

CRA is now processing and auditing HST Rebate Applications. However, there may be a backlog due to the volume of applications that were put on hold during the COVID-19 freeze.

Let me know if you have any questions. I am available to deal with any matter related to an HST Housing Rebate. Thanks.
116 replies
Dec 19, 2010
920 posts
452 upvotes
If after possession of a new construction home within a year you choose to move (financial reason, work relocation etc), is HST payable at time of sale because the owner didn’t stay in the house at least a year (even though that was the intention when they took possession)?

And at what point is it determined if HST is payable- at time of sale of the home, when filing taxes the following year etc?
[OP]
Nov 15, 2019
108 posts
48 upvotes
Each scenario has a different outcome based on the specific facts of the case. Living in a new construction for a short period of time may make you ineligible for the rebate. It all depends on the facts of the specific situation.

HST is payable at the time of the purchase of a property.
Deal Addict
May 23, 2006
1519 posts
544 upvotes
Vancouver
If someone paid GST or HST to buy a new detached house with a 1 bedroom legal suite.

Then, the 1 bedroom legal suite is used exclusive for rental, with the first rent lease agreement being 1 year or longer.

Is a proportional amount (e.g. sq feet of 1 bedroom legal suite/sq feet of entire house) of the GST or HST that was paid eligible for GST/HST New Residential Rental Property Rebate?

https://www.canada.ca/content/dam/cra-a ... 31-16e.pdf
Oct 26, 2007
326 posts
197 upvotes