• Last Updated:
  • May 26th, 2021 2:30 pm
[OP]
Sep 8, 2008
241 posts
68 upvotes
Vancouver, Canada

Huggies hiked their diaper prices by atleast 25%

I recently visited Walmart and Loblaws (Superstore in BC) and saw that they jacked up the price for Huggies diapers by atleast 25%. And that too some of the diapers of Huggies are out of stock

Just 2 weeks back I bought one for my newborn for $19.97. This week it went up by 25% to $24.97.

Being a BC resident, I can afford to pay as we pay the premium for everything :). But wondering how will some families across Canada who are in below poverty line afford this hike despite the state of the economy not so great.

Are we entering into another pandemic rush at the mercy of these companies who produce and control supplies of essential items despite enough people getting vaccinated?
Seriously no catch. Free Bitcoin from Mogo. Sign up with this link and we both get $$$ to buy bitcoin!
21 replies
Deal Expert
Feb 7, 2017
17752 posts
15207 upvotes
Eastern Ontario
Same reason there’s about to be another run on TP & PT

Although this time it is a REAL THING for good reason

Wood Pulp Shortage

It’s another price adjustment cuz of Covid

But should work itself out as things become more readily available again = production increases / manpower issues decrease

https://www.cnn.com/2021/05/07/business ... index.html
Deal Addict
Feb 10, 2013
4228 posts
844 upvotes
Richmond
Just use cloth diapers. Cheaper and more environmentally friendly
Deal Guru
Dec 5, 2006
10656 posts
5656 upvotes
Markham
Higher demands

After staying at home more than one year and nothing outside to do, we probably will see more babies coming lol
Deal Expert
Feb 7, 2017
17752 posts
15207 upvotes
Eastern Ontario
smartie wrote: Higher demands

After staying at home more than one year and nothing outside to do, we probably will see more babies coming lol
Maybe after the pandemic is over