Expired Hot Deals

[Hyundai] Hyundai Tucson 2020 $3500-$4000 Rebate

• Last Updated:
  • Sep 22nd, 2020 6:26 pm
Aug 2, 2008
94 posts
106 upvotes
I work in the industry and I won't name the brand I work for.

I keep reading and hearing about how much money one can save and all those stuff. And it is what some people care about because they think they beat the dealer and they won, etc.

However, people keep forgetting about resell value as well.
When a manufacturer provides a massive discount, it devalues the car right away. Think about it. If you can get that deal, so can anyone else. So in order for the next person to buy that demo car or used car, the price has to drop even lower than the price you paid. If you got $6-7k discount on a $40,000 car, do you think your car is still work $33,000? More like $28,000 right after you signed those paperwork.

Look at what you will actually get after you trade in your car after owning a vehicle for x amount of year, and include all those service cost and out of warranty repair and then divide that by the number of year of ownership. That is the real cost of ownership.

I know some of people say "I don't care about resell value" or "I will keep my car forever". Nobody keeps their car forget, and if you don't care about resell value, next time the dealer tells you a trade number, don't whine that it is too low. Everybody cares about what they get for their trade and in reality every car depreciate and those that give out massive discount depreciate faster.

The best way to see is to check out the used car market. Look at AutoTrader and you can see why some brands hold their value than others.

People are not dumb because they went and bought a brand that doesn't have massive discount like the others. You get what you pay for.

Think about it this way, Samsung always have promo and discount on their phone, what is the resell value on a used Samsung.