• Last Updated:
  • Jun 14th, 2019 8:24 pm
Tags:
[OP]
May 30, 2019
12 posts
2 upvotes

I damaged a bumper. Cash or insurance?

Hi, I'm an Ontario driver and a few days ago, I ran into a car in front of me and damaged its rear bumper.
The repair was quoted $1300, which is reasonable for a full replacement.
I am wondering if I should hand $1300 in cash, or have it passed to the insurance company.
I offered a cash settlement which was lower than the full repair, but the other driver wants to have the bumper replaced. So it'll be either $1300 in cash or the insurance.
I started driving from last year and this is my first accident, so I have the first time forgiveness thing.
$1300 is a lot of money for me at the moment, but the possible insurance rate rise in the future might cost more. (I don't know how much it'll increase when a second accident occurs)

How would you handle the case? Cash or through insurance company?
Thank you for your insight.
37 replies
Deal Addict
Jan 31, 2007
3594 posts
826 upvotes
you can buy a painted dumper for $300-500 and replace your self. Its pretty easy.
[OP]
May 30, 2019
12 posts
2 upvotes
I asked him if he could repair it some other way, but he wants to have it fully replaced with OEM parts and by professionals.
Deal Addict
Jan 15, 2013
1657 posts
1229 upvotes
Ottawa
$1300 is a fair amount. I'd cough it up and keep your record clean. If I'm the party in the right, I wouldn't have time to dick around. You pay me now or I go through insurance, period. My rear bumper was damaged a couple of years ago and I went through insurance even though the other party wanted to settle. These things almost always go awry when time passes - human nature.

Just make sure the other party signs a waiver to absolve you of any further action if you choose to settle.
Last edited by sandav on May 31st, 2019 7:23 am, edited 2 times in total.
Deal Expert
Jul 30, 2007
28620 posts
14036 upvotes
Toronto