Careers

I got a job from a fine dining restaurant in toronto.

• Last Updated:
  • Sep 9th, 2021 8:07 pm
[OP]
Aug 25, 2021
4 posts
15 upvotes

I got a job from a fine dining restaurant in toronto.

Hi I recently got a job at a fine dining restaurant. I start there with 14/h 12hs a day(not after-tax). Is that normal for a beginner in a fine dining restaurant? Is it worth it to start there to work? Winter is coming and it is another factor I have to consider because the restaurant is quite far away from where I live (about 1 hour TTC).

I have been working in this industry for 2 years and all I have is disappointment. Low salary and the job is not rewarding. I don't if i should still stay in this industry. Can't really see the future of myself.
36 replies
Deal Expert
Jan 7, 2007
21034 posts
5598 upvotes
Poormond Hill
A life spent making mistakes is not only more memorable, but more useful than a life spent doing nothing.
[OP]
Aug 25, 2021
4 posts
15 upvotes
My position is pre cook. I think my salary is kinda before average.
Deal Fanatic
Sep 16, 2004
9779 posts
2034 upvotes
Toronto
Always saw waiting tables as more of a part time gig for students working towards a career, young and attractive folks with great extrovert personalities, that can hustle tips easily and quickly.
Pretty much rules me out.:(
Deal Fanatic
Aug 29, 2011
8428 posts
5304 upvotes
Mississauga
Oooh, kitchen work is a meat grinder (no pun intended). Hope you have a thick skin OP.
[OP]
Aug 25, 2021
4 posts
15 upvotes
Kitchen work is tough but I went through something tougher before, but the problem is that the job is not rewarding. $14/h means I have to work a second job and 7 days a week no break to sustain my life. I don't know how long they will give me a raise. Can anyone tell me what averages a line cook can make in a fine dining restaurant?
Deal Addict
Jan 14, 2007
4599 posts
1833 upvotes
GTA
Aren't you entitled to shared tips, meaning your wage would exceed the $14/hr?