Careers

I have a Dream Job in mind, how should I work towards it?

• Last Updated:
  • Jul 13th, 2012 10:03 pm
Tags:
None
Dec 3, 2009
283 posts
49 upvotes
Swinky wrote: I am currently a business student (studying at one of the best business schools in Canada, although that kind of stuff is debatable) who just finished her first year of studies, and on summer break. While a few of my colleagues have already found field-related intern ships, I am struggling to find anything meaningful to do this summer. So I decided that maybe I should work towards my dream job, I'm just not sure how.
just out of curiousity, which school do you go to?
[OP]
Jul 1, 2012
15 posts
Orillia
Joelllle wrote: Then instead of going for the luxury brands, why not try to blog about drug store brands? There are a ton of girls in your position that, despite loving makeup and other beauty products, can't justify spending $30+ on a foundation. If you have the knowledge and experience in budget brands, you could do a beauty on a budget kind of thing where you show girls how to make the most of what they have. Some girls may also just not know what they're looking for and may benefit from tips as to what to look for to buy a few decent pieces instead of a bunch of stuff that doesn't work for them.

Good luck, though. Many people have no idea what they want to do still and are even further into their program than you are. It's nice that you have a goal so you can work towards that. =)
That's true. I think I might do a blog mainly based on the cosmetic industry (i.e. the companies) rather than the products themselves. Additionally, I love the budget idea, and I'm thinking of creating different "sets" of makeup to buy for different price levels, based on the common skin/hair/eye/etc. types.

Thank you for the encouragement, Joellle!

IceBlueShoes wrote: +1 for informational interview.