• Jul 13th, 2016 5:56 pm
Tags:
None
[OP]
Sep 4, 2007
121 posts
19 upvotes

I made a spreadsheet for figuring out whether collision insurance is worth it

For finance nerds only.. Make a copy, fill in your insurance coverage cost, your city's road safety stats, and your assumptions about your driving, and see the impact on the outcome.

My own car insurance renewal is coming up and I wanted to make a rational decision regarding whether to include "collision" insurance (for at-fault) in my coverage. It was a lot more difficult than I thought to analyze my personal considerations for this decisions (for example, I don't like haggling with insurance companies over cost of repairs nor do I trust them to be honest, I'm a good driver, I could afford repairs if needed, but I live in a city where people apparently don't know how to drive).

So I quantified all of the major factors that I could think of when making this decision, and stuck them into a spreadsheet. I'm curious as to whether others can poke holes in my reasoning.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/ ... =655873618
13 replies
Deal Expert
Aug 22, 2011
34453 posts
20479 upvotes
Center of Universe
For my 15yr old summer car, it was less than $100 more for full coverage.
Thanks for the spreadsheet though.
Deal Addict
Jan 23, 2006
1636 posts
196 upvotes
Toronto
Your deductible is too high; I have $500 deductable coverage on a regular policy and I don't pay extra for accident forgiveness; and last year after accident on a new car insurance company cut a check for $30,000;
I think in GTA it's worth it to have a good car to drive as insurance is high anyways so why drive a beater; also there is higher chance to get into accident due to higher population ratio.
Deal Addict
Aug 20, 2007
1910 posts
683 upvotes
Kitchener