• Feb 11th, 2018 10:38 pm
Tags:
[OP]
Sep 29, 2008
764 posts
123 upvotes
Mississauga

IBM vs Blackberry?

I am a third year CS student and I recently received an offer for a developer internship on the IBM cloud team. It will be my first internship, I also have an offer from Blackberry. Which company would you guys choose between the two? I am hoping it would be a good stepping stone to more opportunities in the software industry. For those of you interested in getting interviews at these companies you can just apply directly.
22 replies
Deal Guru
Jan 27, 2006
10457 posts
4130 upvotes
Vancouver, BC
It will depend on the environment that you work well in.

IBM is a long established tech company and as such will have a lot of red tape and processes/procedures to follow. It will probably have better opportunities to see different segments of the technology field as they are in a lot of different areas and may serve as a stepping stone to different areas of the industry that you aren't familiar with.

On the other hand, Blackberry is pretty much the opposite of IBM. It's currently focused on a few related lines and is doing relatively well considering how far back them came from. They probably have less red tape than IBM so there might be more freedom there. The opportunities will be fewer as they have fewer areas but the opportunities that are there will be more focused.
[OP]
Sep 29, 2008
764 posts
123 upvotes
Mississauga
craftsman wrote:
Feb 8th, 2018 1:48 pm
It will depend on the environment that you work well in.

IBM is a long established tech company and as such will have a lot of red tape and processes/procedures to follow. It will probably have better opportunities to see different segments of the technology field as they are in a lot of different areas and may serve as a stepping stone to different areas of the industry that you aren't familiar with.