Edmonton
aidan24 wrote: A coworker of mine has the following situation:

Unsecured CC/LOCs with Limits totalling: 110K
Balance outstanding: 13-20k monthly which are paid off in full
Income: 165K annually, base
Assets: Home 500K, fully paid off
Car: 50K, fully paid off
Credit score: 779

He wants to get an unsecured LOC for 50K but doesn't want to close his existing accounts because he's had them for 15 + years.

If he doesn't want to go the heloc route, will banks be willing to offer him an unsecured loc with all of his other available credit.
He should be fine. I don't see any issues.
Deal Fanatic
Sep 7, 2003
8346 posts
1087 upvotes
Edmonton
tcharged wrote: I have a question, I'm a 4th year student with good credit, I've had a Visa for 5 months, paid it off in full monthly, make plenty of debit transactions and banking activity, don't owe a cent for my University schooling or a cent to anyone or any bank whatsoever, should I apply for an AMEX card and another credit card? I have 10k in savings. I want to buy a house within the year I graduate (this spring), but I realize a great credit is everything. Should I get another couple credit cards to build credit, and should I apply for a LOC to help my credit?
thanks!
You should get a MC and Amex.
Deal Fanatic
Sep 7, 2003
8346 posts
1087 upvotes
Edmonton
Julery wrote: Hey Hellfire,

I'm curious about how/when interest is calculated on a credit card.

eg. Say I just got a new card with a $5000 limit. First due date, for arguments sake is Oct 31. I am making use of it and paying it off daily. On Oct 30 I make a $4000 charge and wait a couple days to pay it off. Will I be charged interest on this? On the due date of the bill, does it look at your current balance, or do you have some sort of grace period on purchase.

Thanks