Impatiens Imara downy mildew resistant - where to find in GTA

• Last Updated:
  • May 19th, 2019 11:30 pm
[OP]
Apr 5, 2009
910 posts
221 upvotes

Impatiens Imara downy mildew resistant - where to find in GTA

I've waiting years for a genetically modified plant to be developed which is resitant to downy mildew... seems like this company finally bred something... anyone know a nursery in the GTA Toronto area that sells this variety?

https://www.syngentaflowers-us.com/camp ... -impatiens
8 replies
Deal Addict
Mar 27, 2015
1444 posts
532 upvotes
Thornhill, ON
I've been planting impatiens again for the last 2 years now (this will be the third) and they've done really well. Just the plain old cheapo ones you get for $10 a flat at Cdn. Tire, etc. I have no idea if they are these fancy-dancy GMO ones are not. Why don't you just try buying what you local garden centre has? I'm sure they'll do just fine. The blight seems to be over.
Deal Addict
Aug 30, 2011
3459 posts
1219 upvotes
Ottawa
icantfigureoutausername wrote: I've been planting impatiens again for the last 2 years now (this will be the third) and they've done really well. Just the plain old cheapo ones you get for $10 a flat at Cdn. Tire, etc. I have no idea if they are these fancy-dancy GMO ones are not. Why don't you just try buying what you local garden centre has? I'm sure they'll do just fine. The blight seems to be over.
The blight is not "over", it was just less of a problem in some places. This new variety (hybrid not gmo) are bred to be resistant to the blight, so I expect few garden centres will continue to sell the old susceptible varieties.
Oct 14, 2007
205 posts
50 upvotes
Mississauga
stansoltz wrote: I've waiting years for a genetically modified plant to be developed which is resitant to downy mildew... seems like this company finally bred something... anyone know a nursery in the GTA Toronto area that sells this variety?

https://www.syngentaflowers-us.com/camp ... -impatiens